I am ALIVE!

Hello followers! I’m so sorry for the extremely long absence. I’ve been so inconsiderate! I logged into my email account the other day and had a few messages from people wondering if I was okay. So I wanted to let you know that I am.

I won’t be writing on this blog anymore. My Bipolar Disorder is perfectly fine. About a month where I was experiencing a moderate depressive episode. Apart from that, no symptoms. I’m way tooo tired to be manic!

I’m now down to 50mg Quetiapine. I’m still coming off, slowly but surely. This year I plan to get off all the way.

I have had a very difficult few years. My health is not great. Not life threatening at all, but very debilitating. It’s a weird combo of autoimmune disease and the symptoms of fibromyalgia and chronic fatigue syndrome. No firm diagnoses yet. I’m recovering, slowly but surely.

I’ve started a new blog about psychology, and how to live life well even when things are rough. I’m hesitant to post on here as I am not out of the bipolar closet. If you’d like to read, please leave your email in the comments and I’ll send it to you.

How are you? I hope you are well.

With love,

Sara

 

 

6 thoughts on “I am ALIVE!

  1. I’m happy if you are happy with if the “bipolar Disorder is perfectly fine.” But until when? Sorry told you these bauut this desase it’s for the rest of our days. You just still thinking that tthinngs are gonna be ok, like you said “tooo tired to be manic!”
    But do not gone on your bolg.
    Regards

    • Bipolar disorder is not a disease (which is why it’s officially called a disorder). The disease model is promoted by the medical profession and pharmaceutical companies and is simply inaccurate – there is not enough scientific evidence to support it. Biology is important, but it’s not the only factor involved. A lot of people get up in arms when people talk about the inadequacies of the biological model, but the biological model is doing everyone a disservice. The good news is that if it’s not JUST biology, then you can do a whole bunch of stuff outside of taking medications that can help treat and prevent episodes.

      I totally agree that I will always have a propensity toward feelings of depression and mania. That doesn’t mean I need drugs all day, every day for the rest of my life. If my lifestyle factors and psychological techniques to help prevent depression and mania don’t work, I’m not opposed to taking medication in the short-term. I’m only opposed to taking medication long-term especially when it has detrimental side effects, and the long-term efficacy of these medications is questionable.

      I’m too tired to be manic because I have symptoms of fibromyalgia/chronic fatigue syndrome that have probably been induced partly because of the Quetiapine I was taking.

      And things are going to be okay. Depressions, manias, whatever happens – I know how to deal with it.

  2. Your posts have really resonated with me and I’d really like to read your blog on living well even when things are rough. Would you send me the link?

Please share your thoughts with me

