9 (Semi-Negative)Things You Don’t Really Need to Know About Me

As part of the rules for accepting the Versatile Blogger Award I am supposed to tell you 7 things about myself. Most people tend to frame themselves in a positive light. Since I’m on a role with breaking the rules, I’m going to tell you 9 semi-negative things about me. Enjoy!

1)   I am an incredibly private person

This seems counterintuitive considering I write a blog about myself on the internet. But I am, it’s true. I don’t know why or how this came to be. I just don’t like sharing too much unnecessary information about myself. That’s part of the reason why I don’t tell people in real life about my Bipolar Disorder. And it’s part of the reason some people didn’t know quite how crazy I was back in 2008.

2)   I just decided one day I wanted to write a blog

I don’t really know how or why. I just had an idea one day that it would be cool to start a website about living with Bipolar. I wanted to provide information that I would’ve liked to read when I was first diagnosed; something that was real, less superficial, more in-depth than the stuff I did read. Something positive, and encouraging. A place where people could go and feel a little better about things, maybe even a little hope.

3)   I once took a personality test and scored 7/100 on the subscale “Trust”.

I also scored highly on the “Suspicious” subscale. So basically, I don’t trust people easily and I’m highly suspicious. What a great combo!

Take the test, here.

4)   I didn’t read blogs prior to starting my own

That’s weird, I know. So when I said I just had an idea one day, it wasn’t because I was going around reading blog after blog on the internet. In fact, I never read any. The idea literally just popped into my head (all of my best one’s do).

I suspect it was a form of denial. I just wasn’t interested, I didn’t care, and the fact other people were suffering and going through the same thing made absolutely no difference to me. Things have changed since then (i.e., I read blogs all the time, and I care more than I ever could have imagined!)

5)   I’m bossy 

Like really bossy, particularly with animals. My horse is incredibly well behaved because of this. I generally despise other people’s animals (especially horses) because they don’t train them to the standard to which I am accustomed.

6)   I like to train animals

This goes hand in hand with being bossy. I’m into discipline – I don’t mean abusive – I mean hard, unrelenting but fair. I’ve been training animals since I was a little girl. Give me a dog and I’ll teach it some tricks. It’s just what I do.

7)   I detest doing favours for people 

This makes me sound like a real bitch.

It’s not like I hate doing favours but want others to do them for me. I don’t like asking people for favours either. I feel uncomfortable about it. And if someone does something for me then I feel a sense of duty to repay them. Give me a dollar and I’ll freak out if I don’t pay you back.

8)   “No” is my favourite word

Some people have trouble saying, “no”. I don’t.

9) Even though I’ve made myself sound pretty rude, I’m actually really polite.

I’m also really good at calming down angry customers. I consider that a talent.

Now I’ve told you 9 things about me, please tell me something I don’t need to know about you. Positive or negative. It’s up to you! 

14 thoughts on “9 (Semi-Negative)Things You Don’t Really Need to Know About Me

  1. Hi there!
    Thanks for dropping by my blog, thought I’d return the favour 🙂 interesting post you have here, I already feel ive learned a little about you. I hope you don’t mind if I steal the idea?
    I’m glad you made that random decision to write a blog 🙂

    • I suppose whether this is good or bad information depends on what the tattoos are of; a nazi symbol or a phallus or maybe a phallus with a nazi tattooed on it equal negatives in my book (my apologies if you actually have any of those tattoo’s) Thanks for sharing 🙂 🙂

      • They do sound pretty 🙂 and I am definitely not surprised they are usually done when hypomanic! I have none, it has never occurred to me but if someone suggested it to me when I was hypomanic or manic, I would probably get one!

  2. It’s nice to read this kind of stuff. It brings a more human quality to a blog and that this about what you are aware of and not who you are. We sometimes tend to identify with our mental illness, but these days I am trying a new mediation that helps me to realize that we are not our emotions, thoughts, images or body.

    Something you really don’t need to know about me: (I think you’ll like this one if you haven’t already read it!) I had a run in with a horse and learned more about my anxiety http://mentalhealthtalk.info/2011/02/27/what-i-learned-about-my-anxiety-from-a-horse/

Please share your thoughts with me

